Alt appreciation – #HuntersWeek

Some of you might have noticed Laeliweyn has started something called Alt Appreciation. It’s a time for all the altoholics out there where we devote our time to appreciate our alts.

The point is to use 1 week for each class (see the full timerange and class list at http://laeleiweyn.blogspot.no/2013/08/alt-appreciation.html )

I didn’t see her blog post until a couple of days ago so I’m a bit behind, but I’ll start now with the #HuntersWeek which is the current class.

 

Anyway, back to #HuntersWeek – My hunter is currently a lvl 74 Orc Beastmaster Hunter called Hydra on Neptulon EU.

Disclaimer: I am not fakenicking the famous priest called Hydra, I didn’t even know him before I got all the whispers telling me I’m a fakenicker. I chose the nickname Hydra because it’s an awesome 3-headed beast from old mythology. Look it up.

The hunter class has always fascinated me and I found it extremely fun to play back in lvl 60 when I borrowed my friends account. I’ve never had a hunter myself, so it’s been a great experience to level it up. My first impression when I made my hunter was that the mana has been exchanged with focus, which is cool, and I no longer have to fill my bags up with arrows/bullets – BEST DECISION EVER MADE BLIZZARD :)

I also remember that I had to feed the pet quite often back in the day, or it would eventually leave me. This never occured to me on Hydra, sure I fed it a couple of times just to make it happy, but I don’t think they leave you anymore.

The spell I like quite a lot is Arcane Shot. I know it’s quite boring, but when you get the tier 4 talent (lvl 60) called Thrill of the Hunt you can litterally spam Arcane Shot as 1/3 of your shots will be free of cost. It can get a little boring in dungeons so I like to mix it up a bit, and nothing is better than doing some heavy crits with Multi-Shot.

One of the great parts about hunters is that you can have almost any pet you want. I love to have pets, it makes me feel less lonely when questing alone. I have 4 pets now:

– Bearstard (pun intended) – my bear tank

– Webmaster (pun intended again, since I’m also a webmaster/web developer) – my PvP pet

– Swineflu / Cat – my two DPS pets

Till now, the spider is my favorite PvP pet because it can web people. This is extremely useful in battlegrounds as it makes kiting 100% easier for me.

WoWScrnShot_020113_222028

 

When I first saw Bearstard, it was truly love at first sight.

bearstard

He’s been loyal ever since and helped me through rough times.

WoWScrnShot_012613_003844

 

If you didn’t know, hunters are REALLY big, and this is just as an orc. Imagine a tauren hunter! (Yeah just kidding, Vaxigrip had some Noggenfogger)

WoWScrnShot_012713_204949

 

I feel hunters are a bit OP, because I’m having an easy time in battlegrounds compared to some of my other classes, but there are still a lot of people who can pwn me… you just need the right tactic I suppose.

Don’t really know what else to write here, but if anyone wants to start a hunter I can tell you it’s really fun. Great class for those of you who like to slack a bit in dungeons and just do dps without the hassle of moving away from dangers like rogues for instance :)

2 comments on “Alt appreciation – #HuntersWeek

Leave a Reply

